Development is divided into four categories;


  1. Physical

Gross motor-ability to use large muscles

Fine motor –ability to use small muscles specifically their hands and fingers


  1. Cognitive development

The ability to learn and solve problems


  1. Social and Emotional development

The child’s ability to interact with others including helping themselves and self-control


  1. Communication/Speech and language

The use of language and child’s ability to communicate and understand


For information on LCHS Children’s Therapy Services click here


A developmental milestone is a skill that a child acquires within a specific time frame and enables you and us to gauge your child’s development. Most children reach these around the following times: